top of page

What Is Dark Academia?

Updated: Oct 2, 2020



I recently made a tweet mentioning that I'd finally discovered Dark Academia. I feel like I have found a place for myself, and my soul is rejoicing.


There will be many Dark Academia related posts on my blog coming up, so if you'd like to see something specific, let me know in the comments!


 

By what is Dark Academia?


Dark Academia is an 'aesthetic that revolves around classic literature, the pursuit of self-discovery, and a general passion for knowledge and learning.'


What are the key values of Dark Academia?


• Culture

• Curiosity

• Existentialism

• Learning

• Wisdom


Key pieces for your Dark Academic wardrobe


• Turtlenecks

• Blazers

• Wool coats

• Satchels

• Oxfords and loafers



Dark Academic houseware items for your room


• Fountain pens

• Antique collectables

• Old leatherbound books

• Candles

• Vintage coffee cups



Related aesthetic subcultures


• Art Academia 

• Pastel Academia 

• Classic Academia 

• Darkest Academia 

• Fairy Academia 

• Grey Academia 

• Light Academia 

• Romantic Academia 

• Scholarly Academia 

• Theatre Academia


If you're interested in any of the related subcultures, let me know and I will make a post about them in more detail.

There will be many, many more Dark Academia posts coming soon!


Elfie x

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page