top of page

The Pros and Cons of... Buying Second Hand Books!

Hi guys,


I am starting a new series here on my blog that I have named 'The Pros and Cons of...' (I know, super original!)

I have come across a lot of arguments on book Twitter recently, about all sorts of bookish topics, and I thought I would run with some of these ideas and talk about my opinion on them!


Today we're going to be talking about buying second hand books. Now, I'm going to try and assess this fairly, but if you know me, you know I love a good charity shop!


 

THE PROS


1) Prices!

Books are often extremely cheap when you buy second hand! you can often find books for £1 each in many charity shops and second hand stores, and this is genuinely the only reason my collection has grown to what it is today. I can't afford to buy new books at the rate that I read them. I also just buy a lot of books... But, the point is, second hand books are a lot cheaper than new books, and often come in very good condition. One thing I would say is to be careful when buying second hand books online, as you often don't get to see what the book looks like before buying, and it could be a lot more damaged than the listing states!


2) Classics!

If you're someone who enjoys classics, buying second hand is pretty much prefect for you! You can find tonnes of beautiful editions of classic novels in charity shops and second hand stores, and there are often a much wider range of cover designs than you'd find in a bookshop! Plus, there's just something uniquely special about reading a vintage or second hand classic, isn't there?


3) Charity shops!

Now, if you haven't gathered yet, I am a big fan of charity shops. I used to work for a charity, and part of my job was to sell items that were to0 valuable to sell in the shop. This did mean however, that I spent a lot of time at said charity shop, and bought a lot of books. I have always been a charity shop fan, however. One of the beauties of buying books from charity shops, is the unknown. You simply never know what you might come across when you walk into a charity shop. My brother and I spend a lot of time going to charity shops in nearby villages (obviously, this was before lockdown) and looking for books. Some days, you might not find anything you're looking for, but other days you might just hit the jackpot!

Also, of course, by shopping here you are helping to support important charities, so the money you spend on books, also goes to a really good cause!


4) Helping the environment!

Now, this one is debatable. Some argue that buying second hand books helps to save the environment, as you are not directly contributing to the production of new books. But, these new books are made regardless of whether you buy them. It's definitely up to personal opinion, but I agree that by buying books from second hand shops or charity shops, you are, in your own way, helping to save the environment!


 

THE CONS


1) Damage?

The first con is probably one of the most obvious, and that is damage. When you buy a second hand book, there is a chance that it will be in some way damaged. Often, you can find many brand-new books in charity shops, and I'd say the majority of books are undamaged. But. there is always that chance. This is why I would suggest buying in person from second hand and charity shops, rather than buying second hand books online. I have purchased second hand books online many times, and unfortunately, more often than not the books come more damaged than the listing stated, which is a bummer.

Of course, some people are not so bothered with the condition and outside aesthetic of their books, and if that's you, then you're fine!


2) Their age

Another con is that you can very rarely find a new book in a second hand store. It does happen, I once found an almost brand new US edition of Serpent and Dove at a local charity shop, about three weeks after it was released. So, there are those happy occasions where you'll find a new book!


That's actually all I can think of in terms of cons... As I said, I tried, but I am a big fan of second hand books! If you have any more pros or cons that you think I've missed from my list, feel free to let me know in the comments!


Elfie


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page