top of page

Ten Reasons You Should Read The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

Updated: Apr 8, 2020


Okay, it's no secret that I love fantasy. But from the moment I picked up The Priory of the Orange Tree, I knew it was going to be a novel that I was going to be shouting about from the rooftops.


I've put together a list of ten reasons you should pick up The Priory of the Orange Tree too!


 

Reason No.1 - The World


The amount of world building that goes into this story is truly phenomenal. Every aspect of this world is so detailed, and believable. The religions, the people, the customs, everything is done so wonderfully. It truly immerses you, and is an increble experience.


Reason No.2 - The Characters


Every single character in this book has a purpose, and a goal. The cast is so wide, and yet every character feels so fleshed out, and real. I've never read a book which had so many characters, and yet everyone had their place. In this, The Priory of the Orange Tree is right up there with A Song of Ice and Fire!


Reason No.3 - Girl Power!


The women in this book are so powerful and yet utterly believeable. They each have faults and yet they move past them for the good of the world. I love a book with strong and intriguing Queendoms, and Queen Sabran is the perfect example of a strong Queen. She has her imperfections, and that's what makes her so much more realistic. She's strong, determined and passionate.

Don't get me started on Ead and Tane...


Reason No.4 - Its 800+ Pages?!


So, I know not everybody loves a long book. But, if you're looking something to utterly lose yourself in... This is it. I've rarely been so invested in a book that's so long, but this kept me hooked from the very first page. I read it extremely slowly at first, as I wanted to make it last as long as possible, but after 100 pages, I flew through it!


Reason No.5 - Dragons


Dragons are one of my favourite mythical creatures, and I know a lot of other readers feel the same way! The dragons in The Priory of the Orange Tree are so unique, and the detail that goes into the way they're born, where dragons came from in this world, and how they live among and alongside the people of the different lands is fascinating.


Reason No.6 - Romance


There are some really beautiful romantic moments throughout this novel. There are strong female/female relationships depicted, which is unique and much needed in fantasy. It's fresh, believable and definitely ship-worthy!

There are also really interesting and exciting romances between side characters, and these definitely add to the plot!


Reason No.7 - Pirates!


Who doesn't love a good pirate story? There are so many aspects to this book that you just don't see coming. But, if you're a fan of pirate tales, this book could be the perfect edition to your TBR!


Reason No.8 - Vivid Descriptions


If you're someone who enjoys vivid and beautiful imagery in fantasy, you will not be disappointed! The amount of detail that goes into Shannon's descriptions is fantastic. It's not overwhelming, but it creates the perfect image of setting in your mind.


Reason No.9 - Religion


One thing that really stood out to me about The Priory of the Orange Tree was the religious aspect. The different religions mentioned in this novel are fascinating, and completely unique. I really enjoyed the way characters discussed religion, and the way it impacted different events. I've never read a book that dealt with religion in this way, and it was definitely one of my favourite aspects of the story!


Reason No.10 - The Magic System


We all know that I'm a sucker for unique magic systems. The way magic works in this world is so interesting and unlike anything I've ever come across before. It was fascinating to learn about the different types of magic and the way they work alongside and against each other. If you're someone that loves detailed and creative magic systems in fantasy, I'm sure you'd love the way Shannon writes magic in this novel!


 

So there you have it, ten reasons you should read The Priory of the Orange Tree! Let me know in the comments if you've also read the book, and if you have any reasons to add to my list!


106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page