top of page

Chilling Effect by Valerie Valdes // BOOK Review


Today's review is one I'm super excited to share with you all!

I was recently sent a copy of Chilling Effect by Valerie Valdes, and I enjoyed this book soo much!


Chilling Effect is a fresh and exciting space opera, following a unique and fiesty main Character, Captain Eva Innocente.


Characters

The cast of characters in this book are incredible! We have characters of many genders, sexualities, and even aliens that play key roles in the story. The way the characters interact with each other is fantastic, and super intriguing!


Plot

The plot didn't slow down for a minute! The whole book is action, and excitement and crazy antics! If you're looking for something to keep you on your toes, and really drag you in, this is the book for you!


The Cats

You read correctly: psychic cats. Need I say more?


Twists

There were several twists and turns throughout the story, and honestly? I didn't see any of them coming! This book was full of exciting turning points and fun shocks along the way!


The Cover

Can we just take a second to appreciate the aesthetic of this cover? The colour scheme is gorgeous, and the illustration is so cool!


Overall, I would give Chilling Effect a 4.75 out of 5 stars! The only thing I struggled with was the use of language, as there weren't always English translations and I both loved and struggled with this. The fact that we get to see both human and alien cultures throughout this story is amazing, and it was one of my favourite aspects!


If you've already read Chilling Effect, let me know in the comments what you though! And if you haven't, what are you doing? Get on it!

14 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page